Water World Plane

Tell us a little about yourself and how you found our site.
Aktiv8

Water World Plane

Post by Aktiv8 »

Hello,

I stumbled across your site looking for pictures of a plane I worked on almost 20 years ago ... the Water World plane. http://impdb.org/index.php?title=Waterworld

I can confirm the plane was a Helio Courier. If my memory serves me correctly it orginally served in Vietnam as an Army scout plane. It was brought state side and sold as surplus after the war. It was purchased by a gentleman in Kentucky who kept it in an a disassembled state in old barn. The Water World production company contracted San Diego Seaplanes to provide them with a plane that could (as you see in one of the pictures and the movie) pull a number of water skiers behind it. They purchased it from the gentleman in Kentucky, and that's how it ended up in the movie.

I know this because I was a student studying Aerospace engineering at San Diego State at the time and the owner of San Diego Sea planes came to our school to see if anyone would be willing to assist in assembling the plane. We weren't told at the time what the project was (there was a veil of secrecy around the whole movie) and a couple of my classmates were selected to participate. Not being one to take "no" for an answer I coaxed which airport they would be at out of one of the other students and armed with no more information than that ... headed out that Saturday morning to see if I could "make myself useful."